North East Essex out-of-hours
North East Essex out-of-hours

Patient feedback

The out-of-hours service operates a patient questionnaire and monitors responses on a weekly basis. The patient questionnaire is anonymous, but patients who wish to continue discussion of a particular issue do have the option to leave their contact details so that we can follow up, initially by telephone or email, to conclusion.

If you want to make a complaint about our service, we ask you to speak to the service manager in the first instance.

 

NHS Choices logo

Latest reviews from NHS Choices

I was recently transferred here by Queens hospital to have a colonoscopy due to long waiting times. The treatment I received here was brilliant. I received an appointment in around 4 weeks after seeing the Gastro at Queens and everything was so organised. From the moment I was taken through to the ward I was treated really well. The nurses and doctor explained everything to me clearly and I was also encouraged to ask any questions. The theatre staff were so lovely. They were talking to me through the whole procedure and making sure I was warm and comfy enough and explained what was happening as they went. Even when I went back on the ward to recover the little touches like getting some biscuits and juice drinks was really good. When I was discharged the nurse explained everything to me. I felt really looked after. I just want to say thank you to the day case unit at this hospital. You put my nerves at ease.
Kirsty, July 2019
Care UK replied on July 2019
Thank you for your comments, which will be shared with all our staff. At NELTC we aim to give our patients the best experience possible and we are pleased that you had a positive experience.
This was my first ever visit to the gynaecologist as I was going to be checked for abnormal discharge. I had never had a cervical smear test carried out before so was not aware of the medical instrument (called a speculum) used. The consultant did not properly explain or show me what instrument he was going to be using and when he did try to use it, I was feeling excruciating pain to which I told him this. He was getting very irritated and said that he had hardly started the test and asked if I wanted to proceed. I was hesitant and not sure what to do, to which he said 'quite frankly, I was wasting his time'. I then rushed to make a decision and said that I did not want to proceed with the test.This whole experience was so traumatic and I was very close to fainting after leaving the room - I had to sit down with my legs between my head for half an hour before driving home. He or the chaperone present did nothing to care about my emotional or physical distress. I am now scarred by this experience and am quite scared to re-visit another gynaecologist!
Anonymous, June 2019
Care UK replied on June 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to investigate this matter further and would appreciate it if you could contact Conor McGlinchey, Quality and Governance Manager on 020 8598 4619 or at conor.mcglinchey@careuk.com to provide your details.
i Had a total knee replacement on Tuesday 18th June . The care I received was outstanding from the domestics to the consultant . The ward is clean and the staff help you when needed without making you feel that you are a nuisance . Pain relief was provided when needed and tailored to my individual needs . The physio team gave me confidence to get out of bed and get moving. However one issue has caused me some disappointment - a female member of the physio team told me I wouldn’t need a frame for the toilet - well I definitely do . They want someone to drive all the way back to the hospital and collect one ( I live in Medway )!luckily I’ve managed to beg borrow and steal one
Anonymous, June 2019
Care UK replied on June 2019
Thank you for your kind comments. We aim to give our patients the best experience possible and we are pleased that you had a mainly positive experience. We would appreciate it if you could contact Mr Conor McGlinchey, Quality and Governance Manager, on 020 8598 4619 about the frame so that we can look into this. We understand that you have now sourced a frame but your feedback will help us to improve our services in the future.
I arrived early morning but unfortunately had to wait till early afternoon for my operation. Then a rather painful spinal anaesthetic had to be aborted for a general anaesthetic and one of my teeth broke after a couple of days. However, in spite of these unfortunate events, I still rate the treatment and care at the Treatment Centre as very good and here's why. The staff were professional and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. My Consultant is a very good doctor and is also both friendly and approachable. The nurses were so attentive and professional put a homely touch to my welcome and discharge as well. The cleaning staff work hard and the catering would not be out of place in a good hotel. Thanks to everyone for the care, advice and assistance and especially the lovely food, essential to regain strength and fitness. I am now 6 weeks post op and striving hard with my physio and rehabilitation to ensure all their hard work results in my complete recovery. Thanks again.
Steve G, April 2019
Care UK replied on April 2019
Thank you for your comments, which will be shared with all our staff. At NELTC we aim to give our patients the best experience possible and we are pleased that you had a positive experience, despite, as you say, a few unfortunate events.
I have had quite a few Endoscopes in the mid 80s, how things have changed - very supportive staff from beginning to end in what was a very smooth process, I have taken people in the past who used the UK Care service I thought they were excellent then and the same goes for my own visit, in terms of putting me at ease nothing has bettered it.
Keith A Finch, March 2019
Care UK replied on March 2019
Thank you for your comments, which will be shared with all our staff. At NELTC we aim to give our patients the best experience possible and we are pleased that you had a positive experience.
I have had previous treatment before at the North East London Nhs Treatment Centre as a day patient which was amazing, so i requested to my G.P to have my Knee Replacement there to. This time i was admitted as a in Patient to the King Fisher ward for Total Knee Replacement Surgery. From entering the ward early morning for my surgery I was Impressed by the cleanliness and how well kept the ward was. On entering the ward the Nurse explained everything I needed to know and answer any concerns or questions I had. All the Staff from my Consultant, Anesthetist, Theatre Staff, Physio, Nursing Staff and the Tea and Dinner lady were wonderful all showed so much care, kindness and answered any questions or anxiety and worries I had before and after my Surgery. I would highly recommend this Hospital to all my Family and Friends who require any Surgery in the future, I am pleased to say I am home and doing remarkably well thanks to all the amazing and wonderful Staff at the North East London Nhs Treatment Centre.
Ann, April 2019
Care UK replied on April 2019
Thank you for your kind comments, which will be shared with all our staff. At NELTC we aim to give our patients the best experience possible and we are pleased that you had a positive experience and we wish you a speedy recovery.
Arrived at 12pm was escorted to my bed and changed in to gown went down at 2.30 was kept informed at all times what was happening had some discussion on anesthetic which was my chioice. Had operation back on ward at 1630 was throughly looked after unfortunately had to be cathertrised about 3am bit uncomfortable but necessary.. Breakfast at 8 am washed. Physio came and showed me how to use walker. Physio came back and showed me how to use crutches had lunch liver and bacon. Physio came back and showed me how to walk up and down stairs with confidence. Nurse Removed cathita and took blood saw the chemist who discussed my prescription for home. Went down for X-ray bloods back went to bathroom all good to go. Home at 16.30 what seamless experience the team on Kingfisher ward are fabulous can thank them enough a special thanks to the consultant and surgeon for going the extra mile
David, February 2019
Care UK replied on February 2019
Thank you for your kind comments, which will be shared with all our staff. At NELTC we aim to give our patients the best experience possible and we are pleased that you had a positive experience and we wish you a speedy recovery.
Mu husband had 2 knee repacements done here a couple years back with great results so even though we had moved out to Essex he chose to return here for his recent hip replacement. The inpatient care and surgery was very good although I was concerned that he was discharged the day after his operation after only having got out of bed that morning. However we have found the physiotherapy aftercare sadly lacking. His first appt with the physio was not until 20 days after his operation and he will not be seen again for another 20 days. This leaves us not knowing whether he is progressing satisfactorily and whether he can / should be increasing his exercising / activities and/or relying less on his crutches or moving to a walkng stick. This against does not weigh well with the advice we received previously when he had his knees replaced when It was impressed on us that the success of his replacements/ recovery was extremely reliant on the physiotherapy. We also were issued with a toilet raiser which we knew would be too low and we then had to make representations to get it replaced with the higher model
Anonymous, January 2019
Care UK replied on January 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to investigate this matter further and would appreciate it if you could contact Conor McGlinchey, Quality and Governance Manager on 020 8598 4619 or at conor.mcglinchey@careuk.com to provide your details.
From the time of my first appointment it was 2 weeks to my surgery. The care I received from the medical and catering staff was excellent. The only thing to let the side down was admin but this seems to be the same across the board for the NHS. I have decided to have my aftercare done at Ilford as well, even though I live in Chelmsford. Thank you all so much.
Mrs Avril Brewer, September 2018
Care UK replied on September 2018
Thank you for your kind comments, which will be shared with all our staff. At NELTC we aim to give our patients the best experience possible and we are pleased that you had a positive experience and we wish you a speedy recovery.
Well, I think the title says it all. I have damaged my knee to the point I cannot walk properly. My doctor did choose and book to get me the first available appointment. I’m a clinical member of Nhs staff and whilst I understand the pressure all Nhs services are under, I feel my lack of treatment and communication is UNACCEPTABLE. My first appointment was cancelled less than 24 hours before the appointment time and rebooked for 2 weeks later. I saw the doctor who was very good. He agreed I’d need an urgent MRI and said it should be within 2-3 weeks, that was over 8 weeks ago. I have heard NOTHING, nobody answers any phones, no letters, no mri, no nothing. I’m slow moving, limping and my work is severly limited. The pain I am in is excruciating, I cannot do anything after working even a short day and it’s a matter of time before I damage my other leg. I’m disgusted that anyone could be left without even ANY investigation or diagnosis and more to the point IN PAIN!!!!!! Appalling patient care, shame on this centre. If you get the opportunity to choose and book this place, DONT BOTHER! Go anywhere else, my daughter has a knee problem and has been seen and mri within 6 weeks at another local hospital.
Anonymous, October 2018
Care UK replied on October 2018
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to investigate this matter further and would appreciate it if you could contact Conor McGlinchey, Quality and Governance Manager on 020 8598 4619 or at conor.mcglinchey@careuk.com to provide your details.
only waited 7 weeks from seeing gp to getting operated on fantastic staff clean food great from the tea lady to the surgeon treated with care and understanding doing a great job thank you so much. For my new knee hopefully pain free now thanks again
Lisa chandler, September 2018
Care UK replied on September 2018
Thank you for your kind comments, which will be shared with all our staff. At NELTC we aim to give our patients the best experience possible and we are pleased that you had a positive experience. We wish you a speedy recovery.
my own drs st anns surgery tottenham never even sent me for an xray for my knee .so i got refered to hnel private never had to pay a thing first consukation and xray free ..got refered back to my surgery to be referd back nhs best thing i ever did .6 weeks into total knee replacement doibg great no MRSA..food cooked there for you staff fantastic .i cant recomend you enough ..so worth the jorney to ilford ..thank you all so much at HNEL..i was aeake through the whole op the explained everthing as they went ..i do think they was spoilsports though as they wouldnt let me live stream my op to face book live looool ..joking
janice, August 2018
Care UK replied on August 2018
Thank you for your lovely comments. At NELTC we aim to give our patients the best experience possible and we are pleased that you had a positive experience. Your comments will be shared with all our staff and we wish you a speedy recovery.
I recently had a hernia procedure at this NHS clinic. I was very impressed with the treatment and care I received, all the staff were very friendly and professional, and the follow up care was also excellent. I would thoroughly recommend this clinic to anyone. My procedure was carried out quickly, with the minimum of fuss and to my great satisfaction, and I was informed of what was happening every step of the way. Thank you to all involved.
Bernard S, August 2018
Care UK replied on August 2018
Thank you for your comments, which will be shared with all our staff. At NELTC we aim to give our patients the best experience possible and we are pleased that you had a positive experience and wish you a speedy recovery.
Excellent care today in the Endoscopy dept. Clean, efficient and total respect from the staff.
Anonymous, August 2018
Care UK replied on August 2018
Thank you for your lovely comments, these will be shared with all staff. At NELTC we aim to give our patients the best experience possible and we are pleased that you had a positive experience.

What's new at North East Essex out-of-hours

Our news

Congratulations to Warwickshire registrar on her second motivational book release

Congratulations to Warwickshire registrar on her second motivational book release

July 5 2019

 Dr Afiniki Akanet, one of Care UK’s registrars for Warwickshire, has done it again with the upcoming release of her second motivational book, Taking CSA T

Read more >

What is Indoor Bowls?

What is Indoor Bowls?

June 14 2019

 The benefit of Indoor Bowling is that it can be played at any time, no matter the weather.

Read more >

Skydiving for mental health

Skydiving for mental health

May 22 2019

A marketing coordinator for Primary Care at Care UK Health Care in Reading is set to skydive from a plane 10,000 feet up to raise money for Mind, the mental health charity.

Read more >

Health news

Have fun in the sun to boost your health and wellbeing

Have fun in the sun to boost your health and wellbeing

July 17 2019

As we age, we tend to drastically reduce our activity levels. This can affect our health by increasing the risk of heart disease, diabetes and high blood pressure, as well as affecting our emotional wellbeing. Summer is the perfect time to get outside and boost fitness levels while soaking up a bit of sun.

Read more >